Barrett Lawrimore Memorial Regional Cooperation Award

This award is presented annually by the South Carolina Association of Counties, and is named in honor of the late Barrett Lawrimore.  Mr. Lawrimore was elected SCAC President in 2004 but died shortly afterward.  First elected to Charleston County Council in 1992, Mr. Lawrimore was serving his third consecutive term on county council. He was elected council chairman in 1996 and reelected council chairman from 1997 to 2001 and in 2004.

Awards Won by Beaufort County
  • 2011 - Award won for the effort of Jasper County and Beaufort County's joining forces with the Fourteenth Circuit Solicitor's Office to solve jail overcrowding without spending millions of dollars of jeopardizing public safety.
  • 2007 - Award won for the multi-county (Beaufort/Hampton/Jasper) computer network that established a court case management system as well as an improved communication system for emergency management operations.