Governmental Committee

Mission Statement

  • Public Safety:  To coordinate the delivery of emergency services within the County, including the various fire districts, Beaufort County Sheriff's Office, self-patrolled municipalities as well as technical support for parks and recreation facilities' development. It is also this Committee Chairman's responsibility to recruit and submit names of candidates for the boards, agencies, commissions, and authorities within its auspices.
  • Economic Development:  To facilitate economic growth of Beaufort County by providing a framework for current business expansion and the attraction of new environmentally-compatible businesses. 
  • Legislative Affairs:  To develop legislative positions for communication to the South Carolina General Assembly and the South Carolina Association of Counties Legislative Conference. To provide a forum, on an as-needed basis, whereby topic-specific items can be addressed and discussed with representatives of affected government entities.  Further, to foster active communication and collective problem solving between government entities providing services to the citizens of Beaufort County.

External Responsibilities as Council's Representative:

  • Beaufort Water Search & Rescue Squadron
  • Bluffton Township Fire District
  • Burton Fire District
  • City of Beaufort
  • City of Hardeeville
  • Construction Adjustments and Appeals Board
  • Daufuskie Island Fire District
  • Economic Development Corporation
  • Jasper County Council
  • Lady's Island/St. Helena Island Fire District
  • Legislative Delegation
  • Lowcountry Council of Governments (LCOG)
  • Lowcountry Regional Transportation Authority (LRTA)
  • Parks and Leisure Services Board
  • Sheldon Fire District
  • South Carolina Association of Counties (SCAC)
  • South Carolina General Assembly
  • Town of Bluffton
  • Town of Hilton Head Island
  • Town of Port Royal
  • Town of Yemassee